It's the night before orientation. I have jitters and it isn't even the first day yet. I even resorted to elementary tactics such as picking out outfits in front of the mirror, retrying on piece after piece. The dress code is business casual. What does that even mean anyways!? I don't want to be stuffy and overdressed, yet at the same time not too casual and blasé. After many changes and angled glances in the mirror, the deed is done and the outfit is chosen.

It isn't so much as the importance of the outfit as it is about making the best first impression possible. We are entering into our profession, and we are presenting ourselves to our peers and professors. It is an exciting feeling knowing you are on the edge of a free fall into your future.

Last night I had the privilege of getting to meet some of my classmates. Walking into Dave and Busters I was greeted with a table full of smiling young adults. Everyone was glowing. I know that sounds silly, but imagine a room full of people seeing the dream they have been working on for years finally come true. I over heard one girl faintly say, "I can't believe this is all happening. It's so surreal."

Surreal: a bizarre, dreamlike state. The place where fantasy meets reality. The opportunities in front are endless. And even though my enthusiasm may wane as test week approaches, I want to eat up this moment and relish in the endless possibilities that await.




Leave a Reply.