Going through my phone, I found a Note on my iPhone I wrote after our first exam as first year optometry students. Made me smile, so I had to share!

My stomach felt like a cage of wild butterflies trying to escape out my throat. I was prepared, yet I terrified. I arrived to school too early, and sat in my car, dreading the anxious energy swarming into the building. Elena, my co-mentee pulled up in front of me to park, and a friendly face took the edge off the pounding in my chest. We walked up to the building, and like water forming droplets, first years puddled together to embark on our first quest. I have only known these people for 5 weeks, and yet the security their presence brings me is as if we have been kin for years.

The lecture hall bounced with conversations. Dr. Frishman, our physiology professor, walked in with a stack of exam packets and somber intensity set in. Backpacks to the front, cell phones off, it's game time. Looking around the room I saw a variety of characters wishing one another luck across the isles of seats. "And so begins your four year career of guessing", were her final words.




Leave a Reply.