Picture
View of downtown on my drive to school in the morning.

One week down. Not sure I want to know how many there are to go. But, never the less, it is an accomplishment to have survived a full week of optometry school.

Picture
First day of school pic!

Day one  was reminiscent of many first days of the past. As a first year, we are at the bottom of the pack. The small fish in a sea of much more experienced, seasoned doctors-to-be. Arriving the first day I was nervous I wouldn't be able to find my lecture room. Mind you, the school is only 400 students small, and has two main lecture halls. Thankfully, I managed to find my way. I took a seat and absorbed my surrounding. A room full of 104 eager to learn students.

Saying we have a full schedule is an understatement. Optometry school has become our job. The first day we soaked in our new life. It was invigorating to see how much we would learn. One professor told us first year medical students learn 13,000 words and we should expect to do the same. Whoa... intimidating much?

By day two, the reality of our new lives started to set in. Don't get me wrong, I am still thrilled to begin my new life... But it sure as hell is sobering. I haven't been a student in over a year, so sitting quietly in a chair for extended periods of time is something I will have to adapt to again.

One phenomenal advantage of beginning a professional school is meeting so many people. There is a vast array of peers and professors, each a unique character. During our first Neuroanatomy lab, we took turns stating out name, alma mater, and why we wanted to be an optometrist. There were so many stories that led individuals to this profession. Some were impacted by their own experience of seeing the world with the help of glasses/contacts  for the first time, others shared stories of wanting to volunteer abroad to meet impoverished needs for vision care. Some wanted to work with veterans in the VA hospital, and others wanted to work with brain injury victims in vision rehabilitation. So many different stories, all inspiring in their own way.

Picture
Elena, my co-mentee, and Alyce, my mentor.

At the end of the week, the first and second years attended the Mentor/Mentee Dinner at The Cadillac Bar & Grill. Each new student is paired with a second year who then passes on their knowledge, experience, and advice.

The dinner was hosted by Texas State Optical, and honored the new and upcoming professionals of the future. For the first time we stood together in a room of our colleagues. The second years, once as green as us, seemed confident and comfortable. They were in our shoes just one year ago. Soon they will take their competency exam and be awarded the coveted white coat.

However, as much as I love daydreaming of the initials O.D. at the end of my name, it's time to get back to the fundamentals.

9/3/2013 02:31:32 pm

I see me (again)! I'm enjoying reading your posts; keep them up.

Reply



Leave a Reply.